How to factory reset your used Apple products

Before you sell your pre-Lovd Apple products, it's important to wipe all of your data so the buyer can't access your personal information, photos, and documents. At Lovd, we can help you wipe your devices if you're not sure how, but we're also going to provide step-by-step directions in this blog in case you prefer to do it yourself!

*Remember to back up your device before resetting it so you don't lose important data, photos, or messages.

Resetting your iPhone

Apple has made it super easy to reset your iPhone. You can simply open the settings, tap general, and then tap transfer or reset iPhone.

Once in this screen, you can tap Erase All Content and Settings to completely wipe your device.

screen shot of iPhone how to reset to factory settings Lovd nyc

You might be asked to enter your passcode or Apple ID password to erase the device.

It might take a few minutes to erase all of your data, so be sure to wait until the process is complete before taking any other action on your iPhone.

Resetting your Macbook

If you've upgraded to macOS Monterey on a Mac with Apple silicon or a Mac with the Apple T2 Security Chip, it is easier than ever to factory reset your device.

  1. From the Apple menu , choose System preferences
  2. Then select, Erase All Content and Settings
  3. The Erase Assistant will open and prompt you to sign in with your admin credentials (the password you use to log into your Mac)
  4. Opt to back up your device using Apple's Time Machine or click Continue to move forward.
  5. The next screen will confirm that you want to erase all content and settings. Click Continue to move forward.
  6. If you're asked to sign out of Apple ID, enter your Apple ID password and click Continue
  7. A pop-up will ask if you are sure that you want to erase all content and settings on that computer. If you're sure, click Erase All Content & Settings.
  8. After your Mac resets, it will want you to connect to Wi-Fi and start the set-up process. If you're selling your Mac, stop here and turn the computer off manually with the power button.

For all other Macbooks follow these steps to factory reset:

  1. Sign out of iTunes, iCloud, and iMessage.
  2. Turn your Mac off and then turn it back on.
  3. Immediately after turning it on, press and hold the Command (⌘) and R keys.
  4. You should see a utilities window pop-up. Select Disk Utility and click Continue.
  5. Select Macintosh HD in the sidebar of Disk Utility. Don't see Macintosh HD?
  6. Click the Erase button in the toolbar and enter the requested details: Name: Macintosh HD Format: APFS or Mac OS Extended (Journaled), as recommended by Disk Utility
  7. Click Erase.
  8. After the erase is complete, select any other internal volumes in the sidebar and click the delete volume (–) button in the toolbar.
  9. Quit Disk Utility to return to the utilities window.

Resetting you Macbook can be complicated if you're on an older device, so remember, the Lovd team can do all of the hard work for you!

Factory reset your Apple Watch

Luckily, resetting your Apple Watch is much easier than resetting your Macbook. Simply open the Settings app on your Apple Watch > tap General > tap Erase All Content and Settings > enter your passcode.

If you're Apple Watch comes with a cellular plan, you'll be able to choose if you want to Erase All or Erase All & Keep Plan. Be sure to choose Erase All before selling your used Apple Watch.

To reset your Apple Watch app on your iPhone, tap My Watch > General > Reset > Erase Apple Watch Content and Settings.

Reset your iPad

To completely erase data from your iPad storage and interface, follow the steps below.

  1. Go to Settings > General > Transfer or Reset iPad
  2. Tap Erase All Content and Settings