How to reset your Android before selling

Selling your used Android phone can easily bring in some extra cash and keep that old tech out of landfills, but before you list it online, be sure to reset your Android to the factory settings.

It's important to reset your smartphone and wipe all of the data before you sell it on used goods marketplace so that your data is safe and the buyer doesn't have access to any of your personal information. Follow the easy steps below to reset your Android phone or sell with Lovd and we'll handle that part for you!

Reset your Android phone

Android version 5.0 or above

  1. Open Apps
  2. Tap Settings
  3. Tap Backup and reset
  4. Tap Factory data reset
  5. Tap Reset Device
  6. Tap Erase Everything

Reset Android version 5.0 or below

  1. Tap Settings
  2. Tap General
  3. Tap Backup and reset
  4. Tap Factory data reset
  5. Tap Reset device
  6. Tap Delete all

Following these easy steps will ensure that your Android device is cleared and ready for listing!